![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
Examples of various types of headers Is it actually "open relay spam"? Let's check some headers and see. This is the header from a spam sent through an open relay. >Received: from smtp04.primenet.com (daemon@smtp01.primenet.com [206.165.6.134]) > by primenet.com (8.8.8/8.8.5) with ESMTP id CAA00896 > for (Internal handoffs; ignore). >Received: from mail.ace.net.tw(203.70.86.8), claiming to be "ace.net.tw" > via SMTP by smtp04.example.com, id smtpd000179; Tue May 18 02:35:34 1999 The reverse DNS checks out, and the server will happily relay mail for you, if you ask it to. This is the open server. >Received: from hhDw67moH (d162-sc101h1-stct-pdi.attcanada.net >[142.194.155.162]) by ace.net.tw (8.8.8/8.7.3) with SMTP id RAA14108; Tue, >18 May 1999 17:42:26 +0800 142.194.155.162 is the real sender; the IP belongs to a attcanada.net dialup. The attcanada.net user abused the open server at 203.70.86.8 to send spam. This is classic relayed spam, and this is the *only* kind of spam that should be submitted to the MAPS RSSSM. This is the header from a direct-to-MX spam: >Received: from smtp02.primenet.com (daemon@smtp02.primenet.com [206.165.6.132]) > by primenet.com (8.8.8/8.8.5) with ESMTP id PAA17783; > Sun, 28 Mar 1999 15:28:55 -0700 (MST) >From: ooooo6521@eastmail.com >Received: (from daemon@localhost) > by smtp02.primenet.com (8.8.8/8.8.8) id PAA28461; > Sun, 28 Mar 1999 15:28:53 -0700 (MST) Internal handoffs. >Message-Id: <199903282228.PAA28461@smtp02.primenet.com> >Received: from ppp1011.on.bellglobal.com(206.172.224.51), claiming to be >"mail.mia.machine" > via SMTP by smtp02.primenet.com, id smtpd028334; Sun Mar 28 15:28:46 1999 206.172.224.51 connected to the smtp server and sent the email directly to me; there is no relay. This is direct-to-MX spam, and this IP is in the MAPS DULSM. If you had been using the DUL, this mail would have been blocked. Do *not* submit this kind of spam to the MAPS RSSSM. This is a header for a dialup-to-secure-mailserver spam: >Return-Path: freetrial@flashmail.com >Received: from smtp2.mindspring.com ([207.69.200.32] verified) by >hercules.ultradesign.net (Stalker SMTP Server 1.8b3) with ESMTP id >S.0000047129 for The spam was sent through Mindspring's mailserver. Mindspring's server is not open to relay, so the sender must be a Mindspring user. >Received: from TStoerzbach (pool-207-205-235-130.dlls.grid.net >[207.205.235.130]) > by smtp2.mindspring.com (8.8.5/8.8.5) with SMTP id DAA29517 > for This spammer was connected through a grid.net dialup; Mindspring leases POPs from grid.net. This kind of spam should not be reported to the MAPS RSSSM.
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
© 1989-2005 Trend Micro Incorporated. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy. |
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||